Second Life WWI

When we were looking over the syllabus at the start of the semester and I saw Second Life on there, I wasn’t sure what to think. Now, Like many other students, I also thought it was interesting to incorporate it into our learning experience of reading major british writers from the beginning of the 19th century to the mid-20th. After learning that it was to explore the War Poets Exhibition I was intrigued and thought it a one of a kind technique – and that it also was a good use of Second Life. I was actually discussing this blog post assignment with a good friend of mine, who is currently abroad, and she said that at her university, there were students who were using it as a base for something involving a part of their thesis project, and that another friend of hers mentioned something about them being used at libraries by librarians, also for purposes of further education. However, I did not know this before yesterday, and considering I’ve known people who have used it for other non-academic reasons, so I was a little shocked at first. But I ended up enjoying the experience. That in and of itself was surprising to me. I’ll say again: very good use of Second Life. Probably the best educational technique in this program, that is, in terms of use of multimedia.

One thought on “Second Life WWI

Leave a Reply

