Introduction: Jeff Drouin

My name is Jeff Drouin. When entering college, I had wanted to be a creative writer like James Joyce but soon found that I was more interested in academics. It was the musical and highly visual quality of Joyce’s prose that drew me to other authors of his period such as Virginia Woolf and William Faulkner. As I progressed through the English major, my interest in 20th Century literature deepened until a year abroad in England crystallized my desire to study British and Irish modernism in graduate school. So I completed a senior thesis on musical form and psychology in the “Sirens” episode of Ulysses and have been writing about Joyce ever since. The poetic quality of modernist fiction has also led me to study Proust, on whose novel À la recherche du temps perdu I am completing a project related to church architecture and digital media.

In my spare time I enjoy playing guitar and riding a motorcycle. I think the musical and mechanical nature of both these activities pair with what I love about modernist prose and digital humanities.

3 thoughts on “Introduction: Jeff Drouin

  1. Once again I seem to be having trouble with the blog as I was last year, so I have decided to do my blog post as a comment because I cant figure out how to make a post of my own. I am a sophmore and am a history major; I also play football. My passions are reading, fantasy mostly, as well as playing video games and disc golf. I am from Waco, Texas, the best state on the planet, and am a very outgoing person. As a history major, it is vital that one knows how to not only write, but write well. This is the main thing that I hope to learn from this class, critcal reading and writing. I am excited to further my knowledge of vocab and writing skills in this course.

    • Hi Austin, you should have received a message from WordPress yesterday inviting you to the course blog. You’ll need to click on a link in that message to complete the registration process. I just re-sent the request, so check your email. Look in your spam folder if you don’t see it.

  2. Hi Austin, I see you’ve accepted the invitation to join the blog, so I’ll just reply to your introduction here. We won’t be reading any fantasy this semester (though there are some pretty funny fantasies in The Importance of Being Earnest). In fact, the story of modern British literature is one of giving up the convenient fantasies we live by. That’s different from the genre of fantasy and what it does, of course, but it might be something you’re interested in thinking about this semester. At any rate, it’s nice to have you back in class. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

